You are here


The GRANI Project is based at the University of Qeensland's NANO node, The Centre of Microscopy and Microanalysis (CMM).  The project will involvle all of the nodes, and many Node personal, although the primary participants and their roles are listed below.

Professor John Drennan , is the Director of the Centre for Microscopy and Microanalysis at The University of Queensland. This node of NANO will provide the base from which the network will be developed. Professor Drennan is also the Scientific Director of NANO and in this role provides strategic leadership in developments taking place across the network. Professor Drennan will provide the overall management of the project and will use his expertise in microscopy related areas to provide advice on the type and priority of data that will be worked on.

Professor Jane Hunter , Professorial Research Fellow at the School of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering, The University of Queensland. Professor Hunter is an internationally renowned scientist in the areas of eScience middleware, knowledge management and multimedia digital libraries. Dr Hunter has developed systems across a diverse range of topics from indigenous archives through to knowledge management systems for nano-materials optimization and advanced aerospace applications. Dr Hunter will provide the overall technical management for the ICT component of the project.

Professor Simon Ringer , is the Director of the Electron Microscopy unit at the University of Sydney and is the current Executive Director of NANO. Professor Ringer has overall responsibility for the NANO network and has a clear vision of the future requirements for NANO and the next developments. His council on trends and developments nationally and the future directions of the NANO network will provide valuable assistance in developing a robust and evolving scientific data grid.

Professor Paul Munroe , is Director of the Electron Microscopy Unit of The University of New South Wales and also holds the key role in the NANO-MNRF as Technical Director. The University of New South Wales unit has developed in-house booking and logging systems that include automatic billing facilities. This has been installed in the University of Western Australia and may become the standard across the nodes. This experience at developing comprehensive networked systems that actually work and are user friendly will provide the team with valuable advice. In addition as Technical Director of NANO, Professor Munroe has a unique perspective on the latest developments in instrumentation and the requirements for data management.

Professor Craig Atkins , is the Director of the Centre for Microscopy and Microanalysis at The University of Western Australia. This centre has been at the forefront of developments in remote microscopy. They were the first to introduce a telepresence facility with a view to providing remote mining communities in the state with access to advanced analytical instrumentation. Brendan Griffin has an ongoing interest in developing this aspect of microscopy and his experience will provide valuable input to this project.

Professor Steven Prawer , is the Assoc. Director of the University of Melbourne Node of  NANO:MNRF, and is the chair of the Physical Sciences Panel of NANO. He also holds senior position as program manager in the Centre of Excellence for Quantum Computer Technology, and is a founding member of the Centre for Nanoscience and Nanotechnology at the University of Melbourne. He brings experience in a wide range of conventional and non-conventional analytical tools (such as nuclear microscopy) and will advise on the robustness of the developed systems to accommodate data-sets from diverse instruments.

Brendan Mauger , is working directly with Professor Jane Hunter and Professor John Drennan at the Centre for Microscopy and Microanalysis at The University of Queensland. Brendan is the project programmer and a research assistant.