School of
Information Technology and Electrical Engineering

Our interdisciplinary team comprises academics and professional staff from across the university – bringing together experts from technology, mathematics, physics, business, law, social and political sciences to address global cyber security challenges. ​

Our people


Prof Ryan Ko
Professor Brian Lovell
Research expertise:
Computer Vision, Pattern Recognition, Smart Camera Technologies, Robust Facial Recognition
Phone:   +61 7 3365 4134
Email:  lovell@itee.uq.edu.au

Dr John Williams
Associate Professor Marcus Gallagher
Research expertise:
Metaheuristic Optimization, Machine Learning, Statistical Modelling, Bio-inspired Algorithms
Phone:   +61 7 3365 8834
Email:  marcusg@itee.uq.edu.au

Mr Taejun Choi
Professor Markus Barth
Research expertise:
Ultra-High Field MR Imaging, Neuroimaging, Cardiac Imaging
Phone:   +61 7 3365 3970
Email:  m.barth@uq.edu.au

Catherine Hrabar
Professor Janet Wiles
Research expertise:
Human-Robot Interaction, Complex and Intelligent Systems, Indigenous Language Technologies
Phone:   +61 7 3365 2902
Email:  j.wiles@uq.edu.au

Dr David Stockdale
Dr Mahsa Baktashmotlagh
Research expertise:
Data Analytics, Health Informatics
Phone:   +61 7 3365 7597
Email:  m.baktashmotlagh@uq.edu.au

Alina
Dr Alina Bialkowski
Research expertise:
Machine Learning, Intelligent Transport Systems, Computer Vision
Phone:   +61 7 3365 3997
Email:  alina.bialkowski@uq.edu.au

Dr Chealsea Dobbins
Dr Chelsea Dobbons
Research expertise:
Lifelogging, Pervasive Computing, Machine Learning, Mobile Computing
Phone:   +61 7 3365 2005
Email:  c.m.dobbins@uq.edu.au

Andrews Eriksson
Associate Professor Anders Eriksson
Research expertise:
Optimization Theory, Computer Vision, Machine Learning
Phone:   +61 7 3365 2379
Email:  a.eriksson@uq.edu.au

Shakes Chandra
Dr Shakes Chandra
Research expertise:
Image Processing, Machine Learning, Discrete Tomography
Phone:   +61 7 3365 8359
Email:  shekhar.chandra@uq.edu.au

Archie Chapman
Dr Archie Chapman
Research expertise:
Multiagent Systems, Game Theory, Distributed Optimisation, Smart Grids
Phone:   +61 7 3365 8319
Email:  archie.chapman@uq.edu.au