School of
Information Technology and Electrical Engineering

Our interdisciplinary team comprises academics and professional staff from across the university – bringing together experts from technology, mathematics, physics, business, law, social and political sciences to address global cyber security challenges. ​

Our people


Prof Ryan Ko
Professor Brian Lovell
Research expertise:
Computer Vision, Pattern Recognition, Smart Camera Technologies, Robust Facial Recognition
Phone:   +61 7 3365 4134
Email:  lovell@itee.uq.edu.au

Dr John Williams
Associate Professor Marcus Gallagher
Research expertise:
Metaheuristic Optimization, Machine Learning, Statistical Modelling, Bio-inspired Algorithms
Phone:   +61 7 3365 8834
Email:  marcusg@itee.uq.edu.au

Mr Taejun Choi
Professor Markus Barth
Research expertise:
Ultra-High Field MR Imaging, Neuroimaging, Cardiac Imaging
Phone:   +61 7 3365 3970
Email:  m.barth@uq.edu.au

Catherine Hrabar
Professor Janet Wiles
Research expertise:
Human-Robot Interaction, Complex and Intelligent Systems, Indigenous Language Technologies
Phone:   +61 7 3365 2902
Email:  j.wiles@uq.edu.au

Dr David Stockdale
Dr Mahsa Baktashmotlagh
Research expertise:
Data Analytics, Health Informatics
Phone:   +61 7 3365 7597
Email:  m.baktashmotlagh@uq.edu.au

Alina
Dr Alina Bialkowski
Research expertise:
Machine Learning, Intelligent Transport Systems, Computer Vision
Phone:   +61 7 3365 3997
Email:  alina.bialkowski@uq.edu.au

Dr Chealsea Dobbins
Dr Chelsea Dobbons
Research expertise:
Lifelogging, Pervasive Computing, Machine Learning, Mobile Computing
Phone:   +61 7 3365 2005
Email:  c.m.dobbins@uq.edu.au

Andrews Eriksson
Associate Professor Andrews Eriksson
Research expertise:
Optimization Theory, Computer Vision, Machine Learning
Phone:   +61 7 3365 2379
Email:  a.eriksson@uq.edu.au

Shakes Chandra
Dr Shakes Chandra
Research expertise:
Image Processing, Machine Learning, Discrete Tomography
Phone:   +61 7 3365 8359
Email:  shekhar.chandra@uq.edu.au

Associates


Linda Richards
Professor Linda Richards
Research expertise:
Neuroscience, Brain Formation
Phone:   +61 7 3346 6355
Email:  richards@uq.edu.au

Professor Marta Indulska
Professor Marta Indulska
Research expertise:
Business Information Systems, Conceptual Modelling, Open Innovation

Professor Geoffrey Goodhill
Professor Geoffrey Goodhill
Research expertise:
Information Processing, Computational Modelling, Neural Computation
Phone:   +61 7 3346 6431
Email:  g.goodhill@uq.edu.au

Professor Damian Hine
Professor Damian Hine
Research expertise:
Economic Modelling, Business Model Innovation, Biotechnology
Phone:   +61 7 3346 8162
Email:  d.hine@business.uq.edu.au

Professor Graeme Hammer
Professor Graeme Hammer
Research expertise:
Crop Science, APSIM Modelling Software Platform, Crop Ecophysiology and Modelling
Phone:   +61 7 3346 9463
Email:  g.hammer@uq.edu.au

Professor Nicole Gillespie
Professor Nicole Gillespie
Research expertise:
Organisational Behaviour, Organisational Trust, Telehealth

Professor Srini Srinivasan
Professor Srini Srinivasan
Research expertise:
Visual Processing, Machine Vision, Robotics

Dr Sally Shrapnel
Dr Sally Shrapnel
Research expertise:
Causal Modelling, Quantum Machine Learning, Novel Interpretation Techniques for Deep Neural Networks
Phone:   +61 7 3365 6931
Email:  s.shrapnel@uq.edu.au

Dr Fred Roosta-Khorasani
Dr Fred Roosta-Khorasani
Research expertise:
Theory and Application of Machine Learning, Computational Statistics, Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing
Phone:   +61 7 3365 3259
Email:  fred.roosta@uq.edu.au

Professor Greg Marston
Professor Greg Marston
Research expertise:
Social Research, Quantitative Approaches to Social Inquiry

Dr Caitlin Curtis
Dr Caitlin Curtis
Research expertise:
Genomics and Technology, Genomic Data Privacy, Social and Ethical Issues of Genetic Technology
Phone:   +61 7 3365 4038
Email:  c.curtis@uq.edu.au

Associate Professor Paul Henman
Associate Professor Paul Henman
Research expertise:
Digital Government, Social Policy
Phone:   +61 7 3365 2383
Email:  p.henman@uq.edu.au

Dr Dongming Xu
Dr Dongming Xu
Research expertise:
Business Information Systems, IT Innovation, Intelligent Agents
Phone:   +61 7 3346 8057
Email:  d.xu@business.uq.edu.au

Professor Mark Cooper
Professor Mark Cooper
Research expertise:
Prediction based crop improvement, Quantitative genetics
Phone:   +61 7 3346 2778
Email:  mark.cooper@uq.edu.au

Professor Scott Chapman
Professor Scott Chapman
Research expertise:
Crop modelling, Crop science
Phone:   +61 7 5460 1108
Email:  scott.chapman@uq.edu.au

Dr Ida Asadi Someh
Dr Ida Asadi Someh
Research expertise:
Business information systems, Business analytics, Big data and society, Business value of IT
Phone:   +61 7 3346 4479
Email:  i.asadi@business.uq.edu.au