School of
Information Technology and Electrical Engineering

Our interdisciplinary team brings together academics and professional staff from across the university – experts from technology, mathematics, physics, business, law, social and political sciences working together to address global cyber security challenges. ​

Leadership team


Prof Ryan Ko
Professor Ryan Ko
Chair and Director
UQ Cyber Security
Phone:   +61 7 3365 1092
Email:  ryan.ko@uq.edu.au

Dr John Williams
Dr John Williams
Associate Professor and Deputy Director
UQ Cyber Security
Phone:   +61 7 3365 8834
Email:  j.williams1@uq.edu.au

Professional staff


Mr Taejun Choi
Mr Taejun Choi
Research Programmer
Cyber Security and Embedded System
Phone:   +61 7 3365 1136
Email:  taejun.choi@uq.edu.au

Catherine Hrabar
Catherine Hrabar
Senior Operations Officer
UQ Cyber Security
Phone:   +61 7 3365 2906
Email:  c.hrabar@uq.edu.au

Information Technology Services


Dr David Stockdale
Dr David Stockdale
Deputy Director, Infrastructure Operations
Information Technology Services
Phone:   +61 7 3346 6855
Email:  d.stockdale@uq.edu.au

Mandy Turner
Mandy Turner
Manager
UQ CSOC

AusCERT


Dr David Stockdale
Dr David Stockdale
Director
AusCERT
Phone:   +61 7 3346 6855
Email:  d.stockdale@uq.edu.au

Mike Holm
Mike Holm
Operations Manager
AusCERT
Phone:   +61 7 3365 4417
Email:  mike@auscert.org.au

Rebecca Cheb
Bek Cheb
Business Team Leader - AusCERT
Phone:   +61 7 3346 4539
Email:  bek@auscert.org.au

Academics


Dr Michael Axelson
Dr Michael Axelsen
Information Systems Audit and IT Governance

Dr Guangdong Bai
Dr Guangdong Bai
Cyber Security and Software Engineering
Phone:   +61 7 3365 1187
Email:  g.bai@uq.edu.au

Dr Mahsa Baktashmotlagh
Dr Mahsa Baktashmotlagh
Machine Learning and Data Mining
Phone:   +61 7 3365 7597
Email:  m.baktashmotlagh@uq.edu.au

Dr Ivano Bongiovanni
Dr Ivano Bongiovanni
Information Security Management, Governance and Leadership

Professor Benjamin Burton
Professor Benjamin Burton
Cryptography and Coding
Phone:   +61 7 3365 1164
Email:  bab@maths.uq.edu.au


Dr Peter Clutterbuck
Dr Peter Clutterbuck
Internet Security and Infrastructure

Dr Robert Colvin
Dr Robert Colvin
Software Engineering
Phone:   +61 7 3365 1629
Email:  r.colvin@uq.edu.au

Dr Naipeng Dong
Dr Naipeng Dong
Security, Privacy and Formal Verification
Phone:   +61 7 3365 4337
Email:  n.dong@uq.edu.au

Dr Allison Fish
Dr Allison Fish
Law, Ethics and Socio-Cultural Anthropology
Phone:   +61 7 3443 1328
Email:  a.fish@uq.edu.au

Professor Joe Grotowski
Professor Joe Grotowski
Head of School, Mathematics and Physics
Phone:   +61 7 3365 3260
Email:  growtow@maths.uq.edu.au

Professor Ian Hayes
Professor Ian Hayes
Software Engineering
Phone:   +61 7 3365 2386
Email:  ian.hayes@uq.edu.au

Professor Paul Henman
Professor Paul Henman
Social Policy, Administration & IT
Phone:   +61 7 3365 2383
Email:  p.henman@uq.edu.au

Professor Karen Hussey
Professor Karen Hussey
Director, Centre for Policy Futures
Phone:   +61 7 3443 3154
Email:  k.hussey@uq.edu.au

Professor Marta Indulska
Professor Marta Indulska
Business Information Systems

Associate Professor Dan Kim
Phone:   +61 7 3365 4534
Email:  dan.kim@uq.edu.au

Associate Professor Rain Liivoja
Phone:   +61 7 3365 8830
Email:  r.liivoja@uq.edu.au

Associate Professor Barbara Maenhaut
Associate Professor Barbara Maenhaut
Combinatorial Design Theory and Graph Theory
Phone:   +61 7 3365 3258
Email:  bmm@maths.uq.edu.au

Professor Lorraine Mazerolle
Phone:   +61 7 3346 7877
Email:  l.mazerolle@uq.edu.au

Dr Larissa Meinicke
Dr Larissa Meinicke
Systems and Software Engineering
Phone:   +61 7 3365 3310
Email:  l.meinicke@uq.edu.au

Dr Greta Nabbs-Keller
Dr Greta Nabbs-Keller
Research Fellow - Centre for Policy Futures
Phone:   +61 7 3443 3109
Email:  g.nabbskeller@uq@uq.edu.au

Associate Professor Tyler Okimoto

Associate Professor Marius Portmann
Associate Professor Marius Portmann
Computer Networks and Information Security
Phone:   +61 7 3365 1636
Email:  marius@itee.uq.edu.au

Professor Timothy Ralph
Professor Timothy Ralph
Quantum Computation
Phone:   +61 7 3346 9693
Email:  ralph@physics.uq.edu.au

Dr Jonah Rimer
Dr Jonah Rimer
Criminology and Anthropology
Phone:   +61 7 3365 1012
Email:  j.rimer@uq.edu.au

Dr Jacqui Romero
Dr Jacqui Romero
Quantum Physics
Phone:   +61 7 3346 7031
Email:  m.romero@uq.edu.au

Prof Shazia Sadiq
Phone:   +61 7 3365 3481
Email:  shazia@itee.uq.edu.au

Prof Janet Wiles
Professor Tapan Saha
Power and Energy Systems
Phone:   +61 7 3365 3962
Email:  saha@itee.uq.edu.au


Dr Surya Singh
Phone:   +61 7 3365 8328
Email:  spns@uq.edu.au

A/Prof Sergeja Slapnicar
Associate Professor Sergeja Slapnicar
Management Accounting, Managerial Behaviour and Decision Making

Prof. Srini Srinivasan
Associate Professor Graeme Smith
Formal Methods and Software Systems
Phone:   +61 7 3365 8328
Email:  smith@itee.uq.edu.au

Prof Tom Stace
Professor Tom Stace
Quantum Computing
Phone:   +61 7 3365 1868
Email:  stace@physics.uq.edu.au

Dr Wayes Tushar
Dr Wayes Tushar
Power and Energy Systems
Phone:   +61 7 3346 1006
Email:  w.tushar@uq.edu.au

Associate Profession Stephen Viller
Associate Profession Stephen Viller
Human Computer Interaction Usability
Phone:   +61 7 3365 1190
Email:  viller@itee.uq.edu.au

Dr Thea Voogt
Phone:   +61 7 3346 7540
Email:  t.vooght@uq.edu.au

Prof. Janet Wiles
Professor Janet Wiles
Complex and Intelligent Systems
Phone:   +61 7 3365 2902
Email:  j.wiles@uq.edu.au

Dr Kirsten Winter
Dr Kirsten Winter
Software Engineering
Phone:   +61 7 3365 1629
Email:  kirsten@itee.uq.edu.au

Associate Professor Mark Utting
Associate Professor Mark Utting
Software Engineering
Phone:   +61 7 3365 3310
Email:  m.utting@uq.edu.au

Adjuncts


Adjunct Senior Fellow Hinne Hettema
Adjunct Senior Fellow Hinne Hettema
Cyber Security Operations and Philosophy


Adjunct Professor Jonathan Oliver
Adjunct Professor Jonathan Oliver
Ransomware, Locality Sensitive Hashes, Machine Learning

Adjunct Associate Professor Kenneth Radke
Adjunct Associate Professor Kenneth Radke
Critical Infrastructure and Control Systems


Adjunct Professor Nick Tate
Adjunct Professor Nick Tate
Cybersecurity skills, education and certification

Get in touch

For more opportunities, please contact us

Email